Call for Nominations

2016 University-wide Entrepreneurship Awards



UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA

Peter Kiewit Student Entrepreneurial Business Award Walter Scott Entrepreneurial Business Award



The University of Nebraska annually presents two distinguished awards to recognize the entrepreneurial activities of students at the University of Nebraska and existing businesses with a link to the University of Nebraska. In 1999, the Board of Regents created two University-wide awards: the Peter Kiewit Student Entrepreneurial Award and the Walter Scott Entrepreneurial Business Award. We are now seeking and encourage your nominations for the 2016 awards. The award recipients will be announced by the President of the University of Nebraska in the spring.

The Peter Kiewit Student Entrepreneurial Award honors University of Nebraska students who have directed their energies, ideas, and talents toward community and business improvements with the creative and innovative use of information technology.

The Walter Scott Entrepreneurial Business Award honors an existing business with a presence in Nebraska that has created partnerships and links with the University of Nebraska in the area of technology.

Details of the awards, including nomination and application procedures, are provided in this brochure. I appreciate your assistance in recognizing excellence at the University of Nebraska.

Junan /

Susan M. Fritz, Ph.D. Executive Vice President and Provost University of Nebraska



Guidelines for the Walter Scott Entrepreneurial Business Award

The Walter Scott Entrepreneurial Business Award is designed to encourage **existing businesses** with a presence in Nebraska to create partnerships and links with the University of Nebraska in the area of technology. This award is given annually by the Board of Regents of the University of Nebraska. The award winner receives \$10,000 to be used for the promotion and/or creation of multiple student work experiences in the fields of information science, technology, and engineering.

This award is intended to recognize the attainment of any of the following objectives:

- Creation of innovative opportunities for students to explore a broad spectrum of practical experiences, enhanced learning opportunities, and the possibility of advancing career and personal goals;
- Creation of partnerships that enable the University of Nebraska to develop the skills, aptitudes, and competencies necessary to meet the technology demands of businesses in Nebraska;
- Assistance to the University of Nebraska by offering knowledge and skills in order to build a strong entrepreneurial community partnership;
- Adoption of innovative or emerging technologies for the advancement of the business climate and employment opportunities in Nebraska.

The award recipient is selected by a university-wide faculty committee representing the disciplines of information science, business, and engineering. A member of the business community also serves on the committee.

A business may be nominated to apply for this award or may elect to directly submit an application. To nominate a business, please submit a completed nomination form to the Office of the Provost. A letter will be sent to the business requesting them to apply. Nominees are only eligible to receive this award once.

Guidelines for the Peter Kiewit Student Entrepreneurial Award

The Peter Kiewit Student Entrepreneurial Award is designed to recognize University of Nebraska students who have directed their energies, ideas, and talents toward community and business improvements with the creative and innovative use of information technology. This award, accompanied by a cash prize of \$2,500, is given annually by the University of Nebraska Board of Regents to a University of Nebraska student or team of students enrolled in a degree program at the time of the entrepreneurial activities.

This award recognizes the attainment of any of the following activities through the use of information technology:

- Development of a clearly defined product or innovation resulting from new knowledge or unique application;
- Creation of a robust business plan for development, implementation, and sustainability of a product or innovation;
- Creative or inventive work performed through a partnership with business, community, or government organizations;
- Creation of a technology, product, or innovation that addresses community or business needs or market demands;
- Effort that results in a potential "start-up enterprise" or provides the business community with an identifiable competitive edge.

The award recipient will be selected based on achievement on one or more of the above activities related to information technology entrepreneurship. The role of the nominee's achievement on the above activities should be described in a nomination packet. A university-wide selection committee representing the disciplines of information science, business, and engineering will make the selection. A member of the business community will also serve on the committee.

A student or team of students may be nominated to apply, or may elect to directly submit an application. To nominate a student or team of students, please submit a completed nomination form to the Office of the Provost. A letter will be sent to the student or students requesting them to apply. Nominees are only eligible to receive this award once.



Application and Nomination Forms

Application and nomination forms may be obtained from the University of Nebraska website **www.nebraska.edu/recognition-and-awards.html** or by contacting Angela Dibbert, Office of the Provost, at (402) 472-5242 or at **evpp@nebraska.edu.**

Deadlines and Submission Information

Nominations for both awards are due November 30, 2015. Applications for both are due January 11, 2016. Please submit completed nominations and applications to:

Angela Dibbert University of Nebraska Office of the Provost

3835 Holdrege Street Lincoln, NE 68583-0743

Past Recipients

Peter Kiewit Student Entrepreneurial Award

- 2001 Aquiles E. Marcano, University of Nebraska at Omaha
- 2002 Kathleen Uehling, Keith Young, and Irina Nolan, University of Nebraska at Omaha
- 2003 Bill Frost, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
- 2005 Brett R. Chloupek, Dustin G. Kozal, Aaron Graddy, and Davin V. Jones, University of Nebraska at Kearney
- 2008 Christopher Kingsley, University of Nebraska–Lincoln
- 2010 Christopher Bruening, University of Nebraska–Lincoln
- 2012 Keith Fix, University of Nebraska at Omaha
- 2013 Robert LaMagna-Reiter, Felix Burgstaller, and Manas Bharadwaj, University of Nebraska at Omaha
- 2014 Enactus, University of Nebraska–Lincoln
- **2015** Rachel Ostrander, University of Nebraska at Omaha

Walter Scott Entrepreneurial Business Award

- 2001 M.I.S. Engineering, Inc., Lincoln Jeffery Lewis, President
- 2002 Archrival, Inc., Lincoln Charles Hull, President
- 2003 Rieke Metals, Inc., Lincoln Reuben Rieke, President
- 2004 Nanonation, Inc., Lincoln Bradley K. Walker, President, CEO
- 2005 HKS Medical Information Systems, Omaha Douglas J. Perry, President, CEO
- 2006 IntelliCom Computer Consulting, Inc., Kearney – Dan Shundoff, President, CEO
- 2007 21st Century Systems, Inc., Omaha David Andersen, CEO
- 2009 GC Image, LLC, Lincoln Qingping Tao, Vice President for Research and Development
- 2010 Xpanxion, LLC, Kearney Paul Eurek, Founder and CEO
- 2011 Nebraska Global, Lincoln Patrick Smith, Co-founder and COO
- 2012 Valley Medical Management Services, Kearney – Janet Dwiggins, CEO
- 2013 Hudl, Lincoln David Graff, CEO
- 2014 Hollman Media, LLC Travis Hollman, President/Managing Member



LINCOLN | OMAHA | KEARNEY | MEDICAL CENTER